About the Experts

Adelman, Dan
Professor of Operations Management
773.834.2019
daniel.adelman@ChicagoBooth.edu
Logistics of production and distribution/inventory systems, including vendor-managed operations, effective resource allocation within the firm, and the optimization of business processes.

Ahlm, Kurt
Associate Dean, Student Recruitment and Admissions
773.834.3280
kurt.ahlm@ChicagoBooth.edu

Ball, Ray
Sidney Davidson Distinguished Service Professor of Accounting
773.834.5941
ray.ball@ChicagoBooth.edu
Financial reporting and corporate disclosure, the relation between earnings and stock prices, international accounting, market efficiency, and investment strategies.

Barry, Brian
Clinical Professor of Economics; Executive Director, Initiative on Global Markets
773.834.2859
brian.barry@ChicagoBooth.edu
Popular attitudes towards big business, wealth creation, and international trade and investment; economic trends and political risks in East Asia.

Berger, Philip G.
Wallace W. Booth Professor of Accounting and Deputy Dean of the Part-time MBA Program
773.834.8687
philip.berger@ChicagoBooth.edu
Firm valuation, mergers, acquisitions, and divestitures, the effects of accounting and tax regulations, the quality of accounting disclosures, organizational design, and corporate governance.

Bertrand, Marianne
Chris P. Dialynas Distinguished Service Professor of Economics and Faculty Co-Director of Chicago Booth's Social Enterprise
773.834.5943
marianne.bertrand@ChicagoBooth.edu
Personnel policy, internal labor markets, managerial incentives, corporate governance, and executive compensation.

Birge, John R.
Jerry W. and Carol L. Levin Distinguished Service Professor of Operations Management
773.834.1701
john.birge@ChicagoBooth.edu
Methods and models for optimal decision making under uncertainty, and the emphasis on relationships between operations and finance.

Burt, Ronald S.

Hobart W. Williams Professor of Sociology and Strategy
773.702.0848
ron.burt@ChicagoBooth.edu
Theory and research methodology describing collaboration, envy, and entrepreneurial opportunities in the social structure of competitive environments; organizational design, employee performance and diversity, customer satisfaction, and market strategy.

Caruso, Eugene M.
Assistant Professor of Behavioral Science
773.834.3847
eugene.caruso@ChicagoBooth.edu
Experimental study of human judgment and decision making, social cognition, perspective taking, negotiation, time, and morality.

Chintagunta, Pradeep K.
Joseph T. and Bernice S. Lewis Distinguished Service Professor of Marketing
773.702.8015
pradeep.chintagunta@ChicagoBooth.edu
Household purchase behavior, marketing strategies, marketing issues related to pharmaceutical and technology industries.

Constantinides, George M.
Leo Melamed Professor of Finance
773.702.7258
gmc@ChicagoBooth.edu
Pricing and hedging of fixed income securities, options, futures, and other derivatives; effects of transaction costs and taxes on the pricing and hedging of derivatives; and on portfolio management.

Davis, Harry L.
Roger L. and Rachel M. Goetz Distinguished Service Professor of Creative Management
773.702.9637
harry.davis@ChicagoBooth.edu
Strategy, leadership, and creativity.

Davis, Steven J.
William H. Abbott Distinguished Service Professor of International Business and Economics
773.702.7312
steve.davis@ChicagoBooth.edu
Labor markets, effects of taxes, volatility of business activity, costs and benefits of the war in Iraq, and other topics in economics.

Deutsch, Waverly
Clinical Professor of Entrepreneurship
773.834.0484
waverly.deutsch@ChicagoBooth.edu
Entrepreneurial success factors and entrepreneurship pedagogy; growth issues for early-stage companies including entrepreneurial sales and channel development, diversification options, and seed stage financing options.

Dhar, Sanjay K.
James H. Lorie Professor of Marketing
773.702.3005
sanjay.dhar@ChicagoBooth.edu
Advertising strategy; brand management; marketing strategy; pricing and promotion strategy; private labels; consumer promotion evaluation and planning; Internet marketing; new product development, management, and strategy; retail management best practices; loyalty reward programs; Every Day Low Pricing (EDLP); trade promotions; category management; purchase incidence; and brand choice. 

Diamond, Douglas W.
Merton H. Miller Distinguished Service Professor of Finance
773.702.7283
douglas.diamond@ChicagoBooth.edu
Financial crises, financial intermediaries, and banking regulation.

Dubé, Jean-Pierre
Sigmund E. Edelstone Professor of Marketing and Director of the Kilts Center for Marketing
773.834.5377
jdube@ChicagoBooth.edu
Intersection of empirical industrial organization and marketing; competitive pricing, advertising, retailing, consumer segmentation, and high technology.

Eisenstein, Donald D.
Professor of Operations Management
773.702.2576
don.eisenstein@ChicagoBooth.edu
Analysis of logistical systems, including production, material handling, scheduling, routing, and distribution. 

Epley, Nicholas
John Templeton Keller Professor of Behavioral Science
773.834.1266
nicholas.epley@ChicagoBooth.edu
Social cognition, perspective taking, and intuitive human judgment.

Erickson, Merle
Professor of Accounting
773.834.0716
merle.erickson@ChicagoBooth.edu
Effect of taxes on business decisions; market effects of tax policies, tax and financial accounting treatment; effects of employee stock options, earnings, and balance sheet management; and the causes and consequences of fraudulently reported earnings. 

Fama, Eugene F.
Robert R. McCormick Distinguished Service Professor of Finance
773.702.7282
eugene.fama@ChicagoBooth.edu
Theoretical and empirical work on investments, price formation in capital markets, and corporate finance. 

Frenzen, Jonathan K.
Adjunct Professor of Marketing and Director of Chicago Booth Management Laboratories
 773.702.5458
jonathan.frenzen@ChicagoBooth.edu
Marketing, new product development, managing sales forces and distribution channels, international development , international marketing.

Gertner, Robert H.
Joel F. Gemunder Professor of Strategy and Finance; Faculty Co-Director of the Social Enterprise Initiative
773.702.7203
robert.gertner@ChicagoBooth.edu
Applied game theory, competitive strategy, resource allocation in organizations, corporate bankruptcy, and law and economics. 

Gibbs, Michael J.
Clinical Professor of Economics
773.834.4351
mike.gibbs@ChicagoBooth.edu
Personnel economics, the economics of organization, and incentive compensation.

Ginzel, Linda E.
Clinical Professor of Managerial Psychology
773.702.7889
linda.ginzel@ChicagoBooth.edu
Managerial psychology, negotiation skills, teams, and leadership development. 

Gould, John P.
Steven G. Rothmeier Professor and Distinguished Service Professor of Economics
773.702.9635
jgould@ChicagoBooth.edu
Business education, microeconomics, economics of information, and business strategy. 

Harris, Milton
Professor Emeritus of Finance and Economics
773.702.2549
fmharris@ChicagoBooth.edu
Corporate finance, the economics of contracts, capital budgeting processes, and corporate governance.

Hastie, Reid
Ralph and Dorothy Keller Distinguished Professor of Behavioral Science
773.834.9167
reid.hastie@ChicagoBooth.edu
Judgment and decision making (managerial, legal, medical, engineering, and consumer), memory and cognition, and social psychology; collective intelligence and team decision-making. 

Heaton, John C.
Joseph L. Gidwitz Professor of Finance; Deputy Dean for Faculty
773.702.7130
john.heaton@ChicagoBooth.edu
Asset pricing, portfolio allocation, and time-series econometrics.

Hitsch, Guenter J.
Professor of Marketing
773.834.7680
ghitsch@ChicagoBooth.edu
Empirical models of business strategy and consumer choice applied to marketing and industrial organization; dynamic marketing strategies, product introductions, quantitative analysis of strategic firm interaction, and structural econometric models.

Huizinga, John
Walter David “Bud” Fackler Distinguished Service Professor of Economics
773.702.7272
john.huizinga@ChicagoBooth.edu
Empirical issues in international economics and monetary economics, econometric theory.

Hurst, Erik
V. Duane Rath Professor of Economics
773.834.4073
erik.hurst@ChicagoBooth.edu
Macroeconomics, wealth mobility, leisure time, real estate economics, household savings behavior, and household bankruptcy decisions.

Johnson, Richard
Associate Dean for Executive MBA, Europe and Asia
852.2533.9520
richard.johnson@ChicagoBooth.edu
Executive MBA Europe and Executive MBA Asia

Kamenica, Emir
Professor of Economics
773.834.8690
emir.kamenica@ChicagoBooth.edu
Behavioral and experimental economics and industrial organization theory.

Kaplan, Steven N.
Neubauer Family Distinguished Service Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance; Faculty Director for the Polsky Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation
773.702.4513
steven.kaplan@ChicagoBooth.edu
Venture capital, corporate governance, private equity, entrepreneurial finance, corporate control, e-commerce, and corporate finance.

Kashyap, Anil
Edward Eagle Brown Professor of Economics and Finance
773.702.7260
anil.kashyap@ChicagoBooth.edu
Monetary policy and financial markets.

Keegan, Patricia
Associate Dean for Executive MBA and Global Integration
312.464.8751
patty.keegan@ChicagoBooth.edu

Knez, Marc
Clinical Professor of Strategic Management
773.834.2155
marc.knez@ChicagoBooth.edu
Strategic and organizational decision making, strategic planning, and market analysis.

Kole, Stacey
Clinical Professor of Economics; Deputy Dean for the Full-Time MBA Program
773.702.7121
stacey.kole@ChicagoBooth.edu
Policies and practices that dictate behavior within organizations and their relation to firm performance.

Kroszner, Randall S.
Norman R. Bobins Professor of Economics
773.702.8779
randall.kroszner@ChicagoBooth.edu
Regulation of financial institutions, international financial crises, the Great Depression, monetary economics, corporate governance, debt restructuring and bankruptcy, corporate governance, and political economy.

Leftwich, Richard
Fuji Bank and Heller Professor of Accounting and Finance
773.702.7266
richard.leftwich@ChicagoBooth.edu
Audit qualifications, bond ratings, corporate charter changes, and block trades.

Leuz, Christian
Joseph Sondheimer Professor of International Economics, Finance, and Accounting
773.834.1996
christian.leuz@ChicagoBooth.edu
Corporate transparency, international accounting, the interaction between financial disclosure and capital markets or firms’ financing decisions, cost of capital, securities regulation, and financial statement analysis.

McGill, Ann L.
Sears Roebuck Professor of General Management, Marketing, and Behavioral Science
773.702.7448
ann.mcgill@ChicagoBooth.edu
Consumer and managerial decision making with special emphasis on causal explanations, comparative processes, and the use of imagery in product choice.

Meadow, Scott F.
Clinical Professor of Entrepreneurship
773.834.8952
scott.meadow@ChicagoBooth.edu
Private equity investing from seed, startup, early stage, growth equity, and recapitalization.

Morton, Julie T.
Associate Dean of Career Services and Corporate Relations
773.834.3591
julie.morton@ChicagoBooth.edu

Moskowitz, Tobias J.
Fama Family Profressor of Finance
773.834.2757
tobias.moskowitz@ChicagoBooth.edu
Empirical asset pricing, empirical corporate finance, investment anomalies, performance evaluation, behavioral finance, commercial and residential real estate, and private equity.

Murphy, Kevin M.
George J. Stigler Distinguished Service Professor of Economics
773.702.7280
murphy@ChicagoBooth.edu
Empirical analysis of inequality, unemployment, and relative wages.

Neiman, Brent
Professor of Economics
773.834.3199
brent.neiman@ChicagoBooth.edu
International economics, including exchange rate pass through, transfer pricing, and international trade.

Pagliari, Joseph L.
Clinical Professor of Real Estate
773.834.4559
joseph.pagliari@ChicagoBooth.edu
Asset pricing, the strategic use of leverage and portfolio allocation, hedonic pricing, option-pricing theory, and joint ventures.

Pastor, Lubos
Charles P. McQuaid Professor of Finance
773.834.4080
lubos.pastor@ChicagoBooth.edu
Liquidity, stock valuation, predictability, portfolio choice, mutual fund performance, the cost of capital, Bayesian learning, and IPOs.

Pontikes, Elizabeth
Associate Professor of Organizations and Strategy
773.834.9168
elizabeth.pontikes@ChicagoBooth.edu
Categorization affects on organizations.

Prendergast, Canice W.
W. Allen Wallis Distinguished Service Professor of Economics
773.702.9159
canice.prendergast@ChicagoBooth.edu
Political economy, labor economics
.

Risen, Jane L.
Professor of Behavioral Science
773.834.2187
jane.risen@ChicagoBooth.edu
Interplay between rational and intuitive thinking, magical thinking, one-shot illusory correlations and stereotype formation, reactions to questionable apologies, and beliefs that people form to manage their emotions.

Sapra, Haresh
Chair, Leon Carrol Marshall Professor of Accounting
773.834.5951
hsapra@ChicagoBooth.edu
Disclosure regulation, the economic consequences of disclosure policies, and accounting measurement rules.

Schrager, James E.
Clinical Professor of Entrepreneurship and Strategic Management
773.702.1045
james.schrager@ChicagoBooth.edu
Effect of corporate strategy on firm performance, boards of directors, entrepreneurship, and new business ventures; strategy for the automobile industry and the manner in which private equity firms have entered that sector.

Skinner, Douglas J.
Deputy Dean for Faculty and Eric J. Gleacher Distinguished Service Professor of Accounting
773.702.7137
douglas.skinner@ChicagoBooth.edu
Corporate financial reporting and disclosure practice (including earnings management, management earnings forecasts, earnings guidance, the effects of stockholder litigation on disclosure practices, and financial reporting practices in Japan), corporate payout policy (stock repurchases, dividend policy, and the effects of employee stock options), and the interactions among these policies.

Smith, Abbie J.
Boris and Irene Stern Distinguished Professor of Accounting
773.702.7295
abbie.smith@ChicagoBooth.edu
Corporate restructuring, corporate governance, and corporate transparency.

Soffer, Leonard C.
Clinical Professor of Accounting
773.834.2176
leonard.soffer@ChicagoBooth.edu
Corporate valuation, capital markets and accounting information.

Stole, Lars A.
David W. Johnson Professor of Economics and Academic Director of the Executive Education Program
773.702.7309
lars.stole@ChicagoBooth.edu
Focuses on price discrimination and competition, industrial economics, the economics of contracts and organizations, and nonmonetary exchange.

Sufi, Amir 
Bruce Lindsay Professor of Economics and Public Policy
773.702.6148
amir.sufi@ChicagoBooth.edu
Financial intermediation, corporate finance, and consumer finance. Corporate liquidity management, revolving credit facilities, syndicated loans, financial covenant violations, corporate investment policy, and subprime mortgages.

Sykes, Glenn
Associate Dean for Evening and Weekend MBA Programs and Program Innovation
312.464.8675
glenn.sykes@ChicagoBooth.edu

Syverson, Chad
J. Baum Harris Professor of Economics
773.702.7815
chad.syverson@ChicagoBooth.edu
Interactions of firm structure, market structure, and productivity. Industries include airlines, mutual funds, retail e-commerce, construction materials, and automotive manufacturing, among others.

Thaler, Richard H.
Charles R. Walgreen Distinguished Service Professor of Behavioral Science and Economics; Director of the Center for Decision Research
773.702.5208
richard.thaler@ChicagoBooth.edu
Behavioral economics and finance, the psychology of decision making.  

Topel, Robert H.
Isidore Brown and Gladys J. Brown Distinguished Service Professor in Urban and Labor Economics;
773.702.7524
robert.topel@ChicagoBooth.edu
Markets and prices, human capital, the economics of law, energy economics and policy, and health economics; pricing strategies by firms with market power, the value of health improvements, national security, and reform of welfare-state policies.

Urminsky, Oleg
Professor of Marketing
773.834.4710
oleg.urminsky@ChicagoBooth.edu
Consumer and managerial decision making and its implications for marketing management;  goals and motivations, self-control, decision making over time, and customer relationship management (e.g., reward/loyalty programs and incentive systems). 

Veronesi, Pietro
Roman Family Professor of Finance
773.702.6348
pietro.veronesi@ChicagoBooth.edu
Asset pricing, especially on the effect of economic uncertainty on equity valuation and volatility, as well as on the pricing of bonds and options.

Wittenbrink, Bernd
Robert S. Hamada Professor of Behavioral Science
773.834.0722
bernd.wittenbrink@ChicagoBooth.edu
Experimental psychology, social stereotypes, how prejudice influences judgments and people.

Wu, George
John P. and Llillian A. Gould Professor of Behavioral Science
773.834.0519
george.wu@ChicagoBooth.edu
Decision making under risk and uncertainty, behavioral decision making. 

Zingales, Luigi
Robert C. McCormack Distinguished Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance; Director, George J. Stigler Center for the Study of the Economy and the
773.702.3196
luigi.zingales@ChicagoBooth.edu
Corporate governance, financial development, political economy, regulatory capture, campaign finance, the economic effects of culture, the effect of the financial crisis on the political support for markets, the level of trust Americans have toward their financial system.

Zmijewski, Mark
Charles T. Horngren Professor of Accounting
312.464.8757
mark.zmijewski@ChicagoBooth.edu
Corporate earnings, the information content of financial reports, the impact accounting information has on firm value; valuation, damages analysis, mergers and acquisitions, financial distress, bankruptcy, and financial analysis.